Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Professional Planners

The Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Professional Planners (NLAPP) is the provincial membership body for professional planners.

In Newfoundland and Labrador, members who meet the national standards for full membership as a professional planner are entitled to use the title “Member of the Canadian Institute of Planners” or “MCIP”.


2023-2024 Executive

Julia Schwarz, MCIP, CSLA
Director of Planning & Development
Town of Torbay
1288 Torbay Rd, PO Box 1160
Torbay, NL A1K 1K4
Phone: (709) 437 6532 ext. 224

Vice President
Craig Purves, MCIP
Director of Planning & Development
Town of Labrador City
317 Hudson Drive
Labrador City, NL A2V 2K5

Alanna Felt
Planner, City of Mount Pearl
3 Centennial St.
Mount Pearl, NL A1N 1G4
Phone: (709) 748-1151

Christopher Hardy, MCIP
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
St. John’s NL  A1B 4J6
Phone: (902) 818-2525



NLAPP is governed by its bylaws.

NLAPP bylaws  


P.O. Box 23014
Churchill Square Postal Outlet
St. John’s NL A1B 4J9

902 704 2401

Executive Director and Registrar
Michelle MacDonald

Twitter @NL_Planners

Categories and Fees

NLAPP Awards Ceremony

NLAPP Planners Plates

NLAPP 2024 Spring Virtual Workshop

May 16, 2024 from 9am – 12:30pm Changing Legislation: Keeping up with the Times Speakers and Topics Include: Gail Boland (Digital Service NL) and Karen Davis (Disability Policy Office) Buildings Accessibility Act and Regulations, 1996 Accessibility Act, 2021 Ridesharing Legislation Lori Evoy and Sharmane Allen (Municipal and Provincial Affairs) Towns and Local Service Districts Act…

learn More
NLAPP Planner’s Plate – Reforming the Law on Adverse Possession

Join Gregory French, Senior Lawyer with Mills Pittman Twyne Law Offices on Thursday March 14, 2024, at noon (NL time) as he presents on Professional Ethics at a Planner’s Plate hosted by the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Professional Planners (NLAPP). For more information on this event, please visit the event page. For more information…

learn More
NLAPP Holiday Social

Please join us in celebrating the season at the NLAPP Holiday Social! Thursday December 16th at 5:30pm NL time (listed at 5:00pm AST on the zoom link)

learn More
October 16 to October 18
API Conference 2024